Worst let down from a new piece of gear

DaveyF

Jul 31, 2010
La Jolla, Calif USA
I have pretty much enjoyed most of the new gear that I have utilized in my systems
over the years. However, i recently did something which I never do, I bought a piece
of gear without first listening to it...
In my case, it is my Musical Fidelity X CanV3 that I bought on ST's glowing review...
When I began to listen, I quickly realized my mistake because this thing is IMHO a piece of c--p.
Ok, so let's hear what other pieces of gear we should consider staying away from:eek:

Well, not mine but... Back when I was actually piddling with this stuff for a living (partly, along with another job or two and gigging when I could), I was a tech/installer for a high-end stereo shop. The owner was always bringing in new gear for all to check out. Well, one day I walked in and he waved me over to the big listening room. I walked in and almost immediately said "What the &^%# is that?!?" The sound coming out of our 801's was horrible! He switched to a pair of Magnepans and it got slightly better, more like a higher grade of horrible. After asking what the heck was playing, he pointed to a Krell amp on the floor. I went over to check it out and it was barely warm. I told him it was broken, obviously under-biased. He started laughing again and pulled me off to the side where a new Carver Cube sat. He tried it on me several times over the next couple of weeks and I picked it out instantly every time. No Cubes for me.

For me personally, probably my worst let-down was from a Phase 700 I horse-traded for after lusting after its mighty power. Lust never turned to love and I was glad to see it go. If you've ever owned one, you know what I mean; if not, be glad.