What's the correct MC cartridge loading?

jsec

Aug 30, 2022
There was an interesting article in the latest Stereophile magazine about MC cartridge loading. Is the correct loading a myth like Jim Austin suggested in the article, or is there an optimal loading for cartridge? I'm a newbie on vinyl and would be interesting to know how you end up with the loding you are using with your cartridges. Is it the numbers cart vendors publish or something that you have discovered yourself?

Another Johnson

VIP/Donor
Jan 13, 2022
Music City, USA aka Nashville
With my solid state phono preamps, I’ve heard much more dramatic load sensitivity than I have with my ARC and CJ phono preamps.

My experience is that your ears are your best guide.

Reactions: jsec

Another Johnson

VIP/Donor
Jan 13, 2022
My copy came yesterday and I’ve now looked at the article.

It could be an artifact of the printing, but the two curves he shows look to my eyes as though the 47kOhm curve would hide the 30 Ohm curve were they superimposed on one another. I think the differences would be audible. Why did he not tell us what he heard when he switched from 47k to 30? I am sure one could have written about that. How about 100 or 500 Ohms? What did they measure? How did they sound?

The conclusion to choose the heaviest load is obviously wrong … were it true, there would be more phono preamps with sub 100 Ohm settings on the market. Anyone who has listened to different loadings with different cartridges and preamps knows that there are differences presented to the discerning ear. If the MC preamp isn’t adjustable, the default loading is often 100 Ohms. Is this optimal based on market forces rather than cartridge performance? Why not 30, or 50?