Question for Bruce: Do AES cables beat SPDIF for digital audio transmission?

Lee

Feb 3, 2011
Alpharetta, Georgia
Just curious what your view on this is and your experience...?

Also, are there any particular brands you favor for good quality transmission?

Bruce B

WBF Founding Member, Pro Audio Production Member
Apr 25, 2010
Snohomish, WA
www.pugetsoundstudios.com
Short answer..... AES cables beat SPDIF for digital EVERY TIME. I'm no engineer so I can't give you the specifics. Maybe it's the balanced design of AES. They can also carry clock signal. It's a constant 110 ohm and we use them for every IC cable we use, even analog signals.

ack

VIP/Donor & WBF Founding Member
May 6, 2010
Boston, MA
Part of it is actually the much wider bandwidth of the AES/EBU interface. I've always used that.

Lee

Feb 3, 2011
Alpharetta, Georgia
Short answer..... AES cables beat SPDIF for digital EVERY TIME. I'm no engineer so I can't give you the specifics. Maybe it's the balanced design of AES. They can also carry clock signal. It's a constant 110 ohm and we use them for every IC cable we use, even analog signals.

Part of it is actually the much wider bandwidth of the AES/EBU interface. I've always used that.

Very helpful guys, thanks.

Lee

Feb 3, 2011
Alpharetta, Georgia
So I tried the Apogee Wyde Eye AES digital cable today. Worked very well. Another level of sound.

Is this one good value for the money or is there a specific brand I should look for?

I also tried the DH Labs Silversonic AES but it was terrible compared to the Wyde Eye.

ack

VIP/Donor & WBF Founding Member
May 6, 2010
Boston, MA
So I tried the Apogee Wyde Eye AES digital cable today. Worked very well. Another level of sound.

Is this one good value for the money or is there a specific brand I should look for?

I also tried the DH Labs Silversonic AES but it was terrible compared to the Wyde Eye.