Please, opinions about my new 2ch room

Peter Breuninger

[Industry Expert] Member Sponsor
Jul 20, 2010
OK, I am not a civil engineer so don't know what a screwpile is :). I do know that having concrete walls is bad for bass response. So if that is what it means, you should build another room inside it with more flexible material. You will lose some space of course that you could put to decent use for insulation.

Very good advice. In fact, if I was to scratch build a room, it would have a concrete base floor, then three meters of soil, then four feet above that, a wood floor. Plaster walls a must. As an option... a large window looking out on Central Park or the Oregon coast. Keep drywall and concrete as far away from the room as possible. It needs to live and breathe like a fine concert hall. Forget after market fixes... band-aids in my opinion. It's all in the actual structure.

joaovieira

Feb 16, 2013
Brazil
Zz, here are some coments about your post:

I am trying to get my head around the structural plan before making too many comments. I did get your Brazilian definition of condominium so far [very different from USA].

- You're right, the correct name is not Condominium, would it be allotment in English? I missed the word in english.

Please define a Brazilian screwpile [you did say concrete reinforced]. In USA it is a steel structural piece [piling] screwed in the earth for structural reasons, but maybe in Brazil it is the hole excavated by a screw & filled with a rebar cage and concrete.

The screwpile I mentioned is used to contain the soil and let the excavation of the new room be done. Most of the soil is made of sand or silt, no clay. We make the holes with a big screw, as deep as the double of the depth to be escavated.
Inside there is concrete and steel, like circular columns.