Lyra Etna and Airtight Opus 1? Is it different enough?

joey_v

Nov 30, 2015
I am wondering…

would having an AT Opus 1 be different enough from a Lyra Etna? I have the Etna but I’m looking to add to my collection. I would run both simultaneously.

the other thought was a Koetsu Jade as an anti Lyra cart.

Thoughts?

thx

Audire

VIP/Donor
Jan 18, 2019
FL Panhandle
Airtight Opus 1 is a game changer, it’s my favorite cart!

Reactions: Johan K

joey_v

Nov 30, 2015
But is it different enough as a secondary to a well loved Lyra Etna?

I have Magico m2 btw
I followed your journey to the m3

Audire

VIP/Donor
Jan 18, 2019
FL Panhandle
But is it different enough as a secondary to a well loved Lyra Etna?

I have Magico m2 btw
I followed your journey to the m3
I have a MSL Platinum Signature as my second cart! But different systems perform differently. I have a Vitus Masterpiece Phono stage ordered. So, I may change carts at that time.

joey_v

Nov 30, 2015
I have a MSL Platinum Signature as my second cart! But different systems perform differently. I have a Vitus Masterpiece Phono stage ordered. So, I may change carts at that time.
Does the plat and opus sound similar or notably different? Made by same gentleman

Audire

VIP/Donor
Jan 18, 2019
FL Panhandle
Does the plat and opus sound similar or notably different? Made by same gentleman

Though MSL makes the Opus, the Opus IMO sounds better and thus different on our system. The Opus is very three-dimensional in its sound. It’s neutral. The tremble isn’t aggressive.there’s just a life like smoothness to the sound. The bass is stunning.

The MSL does all the above well and it is pleasing to listen to, but the Opus does them exceptionally IMO. I use the MSL for rock music and the Opus mostly for Blue Note, etc.

bazelio

Sep 26, 2016
California
I don't think the Etna and Opus 1 sound similar. I own and prefer the Opus 1, but I was able to demo an Etna (though a Lambda SL version).

Ron Resnick

Site Co-Owner, Administrator