Toilet talk. The most non-discussed topic on any forum.

treitz3

Super Moderator
Staff member
Dec 25, 2011
The tube lair in beautiful Rock Hill, SC
Hello all, this thread is not about trash talking, politics or potty mouth. It's actually about toilets. Yes, toilets. I will admit that this is something I have never talked about before in public BUT (no pun intended) I have ran across some things worthy of discussion concerning the plain ol' everyday toilet.

Please allow me to digress. Whist at Home Depot a couple of months ago, I noticed a toilet that was on display at an incredible (to me) price tag. $300 USD. :eek:

The first words out of my mouth were "My word, who in the hell would pay THAT much for a freakin' toilet of all things. That's just plain insanity!". This was spoken to members of the Pro desk, of which I am a pro-member. Now I am sitting there thinking to myself that normal toilets go for anywhere around 90 to maybe 150 and after all, they are "just" toilets. I thought the design meant everything and that the design justified the cost. In other words, the fancier the design, the more modern it looked, the more expensive it was....but after all, it's still "just" a toilet. One would be throwing out perfectly good money that could be better spent on high end gear, right?

At least that's where my mindset was when I blurted out those words. ;)

The guys at the desk came back with, "You want it, it's yours for 20 bucks. As is". Actually, there were two toilets there. One for $300 and one for $200. They said that I could have both for $40 if I took them out of the store now as is. They explained to me that they were the display models that were sitting up on the shelf high above most human hands and that they needed to get rid of them. Well, truth be told, I was in the market for two toilets but not at that kind of price range. My word, it's just a toilet, right?

WRONG!