Newbie into R2R: Can you guys give me tips and pointers?

joey_v

Nov 30, 2015
A definite neophyte thinking of jumping into the hobby.
I have no experience with tapes other than seeing my friend play a tape a couple weeks ago.
We back to backed it against vinyl and there was definitely an improvement.
I am thinking of getting into R2R but I'm not sure if it is for me - my worries are cost and lack of titles.
My music preference is typically newer music - pop, top 40.
I am 41 years old.

Thx for the tips and pointers.

Foxbat

Jun 11, 2020
Don't do it. It is very expensive, inconvenient and frustrating.

Speaking as someone who has been doing it for over 60 years and have about 50 machines.

Get a good streamer and DAC instead and enjoy MUSIC.

So... DON'T DO IT, unless you ABSOLUTELY MUST.

alexz

Jan 11, 2012
Toronto, Ontario
"My music preference is typically newer music - pop, top 40."
Tip and pointer :
Another words, music exclusively recorder digitally.

Tapetech

Apr 10, 2014
Fairfax, VA
  • Wow
Reactions: Ron Resnick

astrotoy

VIP/Donor
May 24, 2010
SF Bay Area
Cost. Tape (15ips 2 track) is cheaper than a divorce, collecting Ferraris, expensive watches, yachts. Maybe similar to drugs (also can be as addictive). Music is pretty available, some commercially, some by back channels that can be accessed if you ask (in forums like this).

Larry

Reactions: Edward Pong

Foxbat

Jun 11, 2020
You are making a mistake... most people don't have many yachts, but a typical music lover has hundreds or thousands of records.

What is available today in R2R tapes is pitiful... out of that list of 900 or so titles available today I would like to have maybe 100 or less.

A 100 titles is not even a start of a music collection... just a first shot. But it would set you back $30K or so.

astrotoy

VIP/Donor
May 24, 2010
SF Bay Area
I currently have about 2100 reels of 15ips 2 track tapes. Not cheap. Larry

Ron Resnick

Site Co-Owner, Administrator
Jan 24, 2015
Beverly Hills, CA