Hello from Portland, OR

Scott Borduin

WBF Technical Expert (Software)
Jan 22, 2011
Portland, OR area
I've posted a number of times already, but I thought I'd take a few minutes to introduce myself to this fine community.

By background, I'm an engineer (MSME) by education, and a software person by career. I was involved in Computer Aided Design software from '84 - '05, as an application engineer, software developer, entrepreneur, and finally a CTO my last six years at Autodesk, Inc. I left that industry in order to stop living on airplanes and in hotels, to get a bit of time with my two boys before they became teenagers and flipped the "Bozo bit" on me. I also thought I'd switch to the non-profit sector, and try to work on various "good government" initiatives. You can see by the current state of the world how successful I've been.

I became involved in high-end audio in college, when I had a couple of audiophile room mates. Before that, music was something you listened to on your radio. Our first really good system was a collaborative effort, put together from a JVC table, Magnepan Arm, Grado cartridge, NAD 1020 pre, Hafler DH100 kit, used Dalquist DQ-10s. I spent many a late night listening to that setup, with the limited LP collection we had. It sounded terrific, especially when the final link in the listening system was tweaked with certain organic intoxicating substances discovered long ago by people who were not even audiophiles.

Through the years, I developed an appreciation for a broad range of music, and unexpectedly became a major classical music listener. I listen to everything from Pink Martini to Puccini, but when I'm looking for a transcendent experience, its likely I'll put on late Beethoven quartets or sonatas, or 20th century symphonic works from Mahler, Sibelius, Shostakovich, Dutilleux, Lindberg, et al.