ART 27A driving Quads

kswanson27

Nov 21, 2018
Anyone have experience with an ART27 A driving Quad ESL63s?

kswanson27

Nov 21, 2018
I have no experience, but it seems like a relatively poor match unless you sit close and listen at fairly low levels. Be sure to use the 4-ohm tap/version of the ART27A to drive those Quads.
Because of the Quads efficiency, impedenance curve or what?

DonH50

Member Sponsor & WBF Technical Expert
Jun 22, 2010
Monument, CO
Because of the Quads efficiency, impedenance curve or what?
They have fairly low sensitivity and widely varying impedance. A low-power amp driving a low-sensitivity speaker means you need to sit fairly close and/or keep the volume low. They have a high impedance peak at low frequency and fall to pretty low impedance at very high frequencies, like most (if not all) ESLs, so a tube amp with high output impedance will exhibit significant variation in output over frequency. That may or may not matter; it is possible the resulting modified frequency response will be more to your liking.

I have used low-power tube amps with insensitive speakers, e.g. a 35 W/ch Eico or Dynaco with Magnepans, but sat fairly close. The Maggies also have pretty flat impedance over frequency. The times I have used a tube amp on ESLs (Acoustat, Beveridge, KLH, Quad, etc. -- but not Sound Labs, have very rarely heard them) I found the highs to be a bit harsh, which surprised me a bit because the lower impedance I expected to decrease the amp's effective output. In some cases, the amp was clipping early, but I did not measure them all and that was long, long ago.