12AX7 Pre Amp Tubes Available But NOS and Expensive

JackD201

WBF Founding Member
Apr 20, 2010
Manila, Philippines
Hunt for Valvos John. They sound great and aren't so popular that they've been faked a lot like many of the more popular brands. Counterfeits are the biggest risk when doing NOS and NIB.

Johnny Vinyl

Member Sponsor & WBF Founding Member
May 16, 2010
Calgary, AB
Tim - There are a good number of guitar shops and music supply shops around, so I'll visit them and see what they have.

Jack - OK...I'll check them out.

I don't want to go nuts here, but I'm not unopposed to find a pair for $100 or so, if I have to. Is this doable?

MylesBAstor

Apr 20, 2010
New York City
I just purchased a Jolida JD9v2 phono preamp that uses a pair of 12AX7 tubes. I'll be picking up the unit on Saturday and can let you know what tubes are inside. I've been told that changing tubes would be highly beneficial and am looking for some suggestions. I am a complete novice when it comes to tubes, so anything you have to say will be received with much appreciation.

I've linked you to Parts ConneXion as they are only a 20-minute drive from my place, and they seem to have a good variety of tubes in stock.

Thanks!

What ECC83/12AX7 does Jolida use?

Johnny Vinyl

May 16, 2010
Calgary, AB
What ECC83/12AX7 does Jolida use?

I don't know, which is why I said I'm going to open the unit when I get it to find out. The tube brand/manufacturer isn't specified anywhere that I can see.

puroagave

Member Sponsor
Sep 29, 2011
the tubes in the jolida only act as a buffer, the actual gain stages are a pair of op amps per channel. I don't think matching and selecting for lowest noise is crucial with this design, ymmv.

Johnny Vinyl

May 16, 2010
Calgary, AB
the tubes in the jolida only act as a buffer, the actual gain stages are a pair of op amps per channel. I don't think matching and selecting for lowest noise is crucial with this design, ymmv.