Low turntable volume

David I

Sep 29, 2021
I'm a complete noob and I'm experiencing low volume from my turntable; records play approximately 20-25 dBs lower than CDs. I have a brand new Pro-ject Debut Carbon Evolution turntable, Cambridge AXR85 receiver and AXC35 cd player, and Klipsch RP-5000F floor speakers. The turntable came with a Sumiko Ranier cartridge, which I have set at 2 gm tracking weight, per Sumiko recommendation. The music sounds ok, just very low and kind of "dead". CDs sound loud and alive. I'm afraid I'm missing something obvious. Any thoughts/ideas? Thanks!

Mike Lavigne

Member Sponsor & WBF Founding Member
Apr 25, 2010
Hello David, welcome to What's Best Forum. we will try to help the best we can.

since you are not telling us your level of expertise, i will get very basic here.....starting.....at the start. if i've gone too basic, please accept my apologies.

1--looking at your cartridge specs for output and receiver info for gain it appears that you should not have a problem. so your gear is properly matched where you should be able to get proper volume from records you play. and your receiver should work ok with your speakers (your CD's are fine so that tells us that part is ok),.

2---connections; (A) the most likely place where connection mistakes might result in low volume would be if you did not connect your phono cable to the MM input. so check that. are the two phono rca plugs fully connected to the MM phono input? if it's on another input then those other inputs do not have sufficient gain to give you much volume. if those cables are firmly plugged into the MM input, then (B) the next likely issue is that the cartridge is not fully connected at the end of the tonearm, so check that. is it snugly connected?