LampizatOr Baltic 3

mourip

Feb 8, 2020
Delving deeper into the TFK ef804 back catalogue, these Hilumin (nickel composite) silver shielded tubes from Ulm look lovely. Will have a listen over the weekend.

View attachment 119629
So this is electrically equivalent to a 6SN7? Is it a dual triode and do you need two per side for balanced?

mourip

Feb 8, 2020
ef804 a pentode similar to c3g and e83 in all these respects.

Thanks. I wonder if the adapter has resistors to strap it to triode mode to work in the 6SN7 position.

adamaley

Apr 15, 2016
Minnetonka, MN
I never saw any answers to this question? I have some very nice 6c8G's so "will they work" in the Baltic without seeing a fireworks show? My experience has always been that you can use a 6sl7 in a 6sn7 circuit without too much drama?!?
I've tried both National Union and Tungsol 6C8G - they have similar gain, maybe just a smidge more than the ECC32. No issues with them.

Reachout

Nov 21, 2023
Switzerland
Hello All,
I am new to the community of Baltic 3 afficionados.
By chance I discovered that the factory in PL was offering a refurbished Baltic 3 with an hdmi/I2s connector. I purchased the unit since my streamer - Mano Ultra Mk III with Farrad 3 psu - does not implement USB and does I2S.
However, I turn to you to inquire about the tube complement delivered with the Baltic 3. I am not very familiar with vacuum tubes for which reason I seek to learn whether, in the eyes and ears of more experienced tube rollers, the complement in question is ‚quality’ stuff and/or how it can be bettered.
Thanks in advance,

Linlai E6SN7h
Philips JAN 5R4GA rectifier
Audioplated 12Au7/ECC82

mourip

Feb 8, 2020
Welcome.
Hello All,
By chance I discovered that the factory in PL was offering a refurbished Baltic 3 with an hdmi/I2s connector. I purchased the unit since my streamer - Mano Ultra Mk III with Farrad 3 psu - does not implement USB and does I2S.