Why does Deutsche Grammophone have to spoil the performance

ack

VIP/Donor & WBF Founding Member
May 6, 2010
Boston, MA
I am trying to enjoy this new up and coming piano star, Yuja Wang, and the Rachmaninov DG with "Magician" Gustavo Dudamel has all the potential, but for crying out loud, the recording of the orchestra... Can anyone recommend a *Fantastic* DG recording? any???

microstrip

VIP/Donor
May 30, 2010
Portugal
I am trying to enjoy this new up and coming piano star, Yuja Wang, and the Rachmaninov DG with "Magician" Gustavo Dudamel has all the potential, but for crying out loud, the recording of the orchestra... Can anyone recommend a *Fantastic* DG recording? any???

I am not astonished with your comment - I also felt the same long ago. However, at some time I found I was mainly listening to playback system limitations or incompatibilities and that many DG recordings I considered poor were capable of great quality sound reproduction. I have no experience with the recording your refer, but my Schubert Lieder by Fischer Dieskau, too many string quartets, some Verdi operas and even the old Bartok Piano concertos played by Geza Anda are really enjoyable. I am referring to both CDs and german pressing LPs.

ack

May 6, 2010
Boston, MA
I am not astonished with your comment - I also felt the same long ago. However, at some time I found I was mainly listening to playback system limitations or incompatibilities and that many DG recordings I considered poor were capable of great quality sound reproduction. I have no experience with the recording your refer, but my Schubert Lieder by Fischer Dieskau, too many string quartets, some Verdi operas and even the old Bartok Piano concertos played by Geza Anda are really enjoyable. I am referring to both CDs and german pressing LPs.