The Linn Exakt system and the future of high end audio.

DaveyF

Jul 31, 2010
La Jolla, Calif USA
Yesterday, I went to an excellent meeting at Alma audio to listen to the Linn Exakt system. Presented by Gilad Tiefenbrun of Linn, we were introduced to a system that is clearly a superb option for those with room problems or speaker limitations ( that's probably most of us:D). The group was enlightened by the flexibility and the overall increase in the SQ with the Exakt system in place. I'm no engineer, so I can only recant as to the basics of the design, but I believe that Gilad expounded on how the system takes the signal from a server and converts it to 24 bit audio, whereupon it is fed directly to the speakers via a CAT cable. At the speaker, which is an active design ( active x-over, which Gilad believes is one of the main strengths of his system vs. a passive x-over) with the amps built in ( and I believe the DAC as well) the result is a signal path that is far less corrupted than the norm. ( preamp, amp, ic's, speaker cables, etc.,). The ability of the DSP to correct in the room is enhanced, according to Gilad, by not having to utilize a microphone or any other listening device. The computer apparently utilizes a proprietary algorithm that corrects the sound based on room size and other info given by the user.
More info on the Exakt system can be found here:
http://www.linn.co.uk/music-systems/technology/exakt