Social Media and High End Audio

Kingrex

Feb 3, 2019
Shows confuse me. What does anyone really want out of them. Its sort of like going to a ball game. Its fun and exciting. I'm not sure much else.

I ended up packing my panels in suit cases and flying them to the show. It was going to cost about $2k to ship 3 electrical panels. Then there is the Hotel $1200. The rental car $800. The airline ticket $1400. A floor table $1200. Dinners out. It starts adding up.

Alrainbow

Dec 11, 2013
I’ve never gone to a show to be amazed or disappointed. To me as a novice I like to hear others sound Systems.
at axpona yes there were a few I had to hear a few times
Wadax being one for sure
but I did get a few surprises
Tree house was one it was good can’t say it was not.
another was an OTL amp not Ralph’s it had a hybrid output stage.
sounded good to me.
now a few amp makers do the hybrid thing best I’ve heard so far is Aries cerate hands down excellent sound.
most times when I hear an OTL it’s clipping it’s ass off and can’t handle the load. Now I did hear Ralph’s and it was done very well. Trouble is some rooms are just not set up for them.
last year at capital the Nola room was very good but could have been much better. huge room
good stuff Sakora table and vac the rest
but the room was huge for the speakers And yet it filled them. But I wonder how much better if done in a smaller room correctly
year before same room he had I think vac but tiny ones it was clip city to the point of distraction
I asked him to lower it kindly
he did and wow much better. but did anyone else care or notice ? This year at axpona the acora room again huge
it was clear no clipping but to me lacked the ability to scale and fill the room.
first time I hear acora it was very good on the H dac too. Really good.
ralph do you have any info on there hybrid and have you made any ?

Kingrex

Feb 3, 2019
I heard Acora at Capital and was impressed. I guess it did spur interest on my part.

Reactions: Alrainbow