Innuos Statement nextgen v Antipodes K50

Anyoldears

May 31, 2023
Hi all,

I have been running a Zenith Mk3+Phoenix USB for quite a while now, and the time (and funds!) have come to move on to the next step. I have an MScaler and Chord Dave at the DAC end, so feel the source is the next step. Looking at second hand stuff I have found both a nextgen (ARC6 PSU) Statement and a K50 for sale both at around the same price. Which would you pick and why? At this sort of level I suspect its a question of character of sound rather than one is "better", but if anyone has heard both, I would love to hear your comments. The statement has a slight advantage here in that I could sell the Phoenix USB, so actually it has a 2k price advantage. Is the K50 2k "better"?

EDIT: I also now realise there may be an opportunity to sell on the MScaler and use the internal upscaling in software on the K50. Anyone who could comment on this aspect also appreciated!

Last edited:

luca.pelliccioli

Aug 20, 2022
If you go for the Statement, IME a PhoenixNET must be considered, too. The USB output makes the PhoenixUSB redundant, as you mentioned. If you are playing music via Qobuz or similar services, then the Ethernet signal coming into the Statement can be improved by a PhoenixNET.

I’m also liking Sense App, sonically speaking I prefer it over Roon, a lot. my Next Gen replaced a combo PhoenixNET-ZENith MK 3-PhoenixUSB. Never looked back.

Sorry can’t help, never auditioned Antipodes stuff for compariso.

BigAlMc

Jun 20, 2020
Hi all,