Are non-audiophiles permitted here?

Tam Lin

Mar 20, 2011
North Texas
Steve urged me to provide an introduction. Here it is.

Music has played a prominent part in my life. As a lad I studied piano and violin. I was first chair in the school orchestra. I’m self-taught guitar and 5-string banjo. I ranked third in the first Topanga Canyon Banjo & Fiddle Contest and performed with the likes of Pete Seeger, Ry Cooder, and Frank Zappa.

Although it was over 50 years ago, I still have fond memories of those days: Like hearing a symphony orchestra for the first time. That inspired me to learn the violin. My parents bought me a violin with a ¾-size bow. It wasn’t long before I out-grew the small bow and we visited a violin shop to buy a full-size bow. The proprietor laid out a dozen bows that were within my price range. One by one he handed me a bow to try. I didn’t think there would be much difference: After all, a violin bow is just horse hair tied to a stick, but some were definitely better than others. Then he handed me a bow that was worlds apart from the others. I think I played no more than a note or two before declaring that it was the bow I wanted. He laughed. It was a $300 bow. That experience left a lasting impression. I eventually choose a $14 bow. I still have it, the violin, and the hard shell violin case the proprietor gave me to replace the cardboard one I was using. Apparently, he was impressed with my playing and my ability to discern the best violin bow.