Which tonearm to practice on?

KPC

Dec 4, 2019
San Francisco Bay Area
I’m almost finished assembling my first bucket list analog+digital audio chains. I’ve already purchased arms for my for my turntable and will have WAM Engineering review my cartridge’s stylus and mount my carts so I won’t damage my top carts (VDH GC, Etna, Koetsu Rosewood PS, Aida Mammoth Gold). WAM will create spacers(?) so I can mount 3-4 carts on my 4point, and WAM will mount my VDH on my Schroeder CB-L.

I’ve no experience mounting a cart so I need a tonearm to practice on. My practice cart is a Audio-Technica VM740ML MicroLine.
I’m hoping to get a practice tonearm that’s transparent enough to hear changes so I can understand and gain experience. Recently, I’ve been spending a lot on audio components so would like to keep a lid on my spending.

What practice tonearm should I get?

VPI Avenger>VDH Grail SB>Constellation Inspiration Pre+Stereo>MinoD

bazelio

Sep 26, 2016
California
Well, I recommend not getting yet another tonearm, but instead just an extra head shell for your 4-point. You can use it for your practice runs. The 4 point head shells come off by loosening a single set screw, and there's really no better tonearm that I've seen from an ease-of-use perspective.

What are these spacers you speak of for the 4 point? I have a 4 point, and a total of 4 head shells for it. I have carts pre-mounted/aligned on the spare head shells, so it becomes fairly straight forward to swap them out. I document azimuth and VTA settings so that I can quickly return those to optimal settings for each cart when I swap out head shells. I'm not sure where spacers would come in to play? By the way, there's also a nifty storage case I found on Etsy to keep them in so they don't collect dust or get bumped while not in use. Kuzma makes one too, but the asking price is goofy.

Reactions: ACHiPo

Tango

VIP/Donor
Mar 12, 2017
Bangkok