Seeking a pre amp for both DAC and Turntable

Davefromlondon

Mar 2, 2020
im seeking a good pre amp ($1000 budget ) for my topping D50 dac and Turntable (required separate pre amp ) so I can switch between the two. Any suggestions ?

Site7000

Jul 16, 2011
You are clearly a candidate for pre-owned gear. The only complication is the phono preamp, preferably moving-coil ready. I suggest buying gear that's reasonably current. I'm not a proponent of vintage gear, although some people like it. Go with entry-level pieces from proven, top-quality companies, like PS Audio. My own heresy is that within a given sound-quality-price tier, it's fair to take note of the looks as well. Check out the re-sales websites and see what attracts you, then ask about it here.

Davefromlondon

Mar 2, 2020
So I probably didn’t phrase the question correctly, I have a decent sounding digital setup, iPad into Topping dac into small Mackie line mixer and out to powered speakers (adr eona) . Sounds great, speakers $3k each and great. . I seek to add a turntable and gram amp phono pre amp. My question is...do I simply hook up the phono pre amp to the mackie line mixer , which has multiple inputs , or is their a better device than the mackie mixer . So ..2 inputs , dac and phono preamp.... need both to go into same “device” then out to powered speakers (with no volume control ) , what is best “device “

Site7000

Jul 16, 2011
I am not familiar with Mackie mixers, but it might accomplish what you want. I assume the Mackie will let you select just one input to play and that it will handle the overall volume (or if you're lucky, set volume independently for the DAC and phono inputs). The turntable + phone preamp would just become an alternative input source. As long as the Mackie will let you adjust volume and select inputs, that's all you need. Of course, a hi-fi preamp might sound better, but I don't know that for sure. Give it a try and see if it works.