OK, time to show face.

grankin

Mar 14, 2015
CheeseLand
I just discovered this joint, read & posted about the Spectral DMC-6, was encouraged to advertise it here, and recently did so.

I'm a largely-retired lawyer who discovered the high end when I was between wives (and before law school). Later had high-end shops as clients, thereby acquiring some nice gear when they hadn't the cash to pay their bills. The arrival of a child (and some other enthusiasms) meant I pretty much ignored the 'hobby' for decades.

In the early 80s I (and a couple of friends) dabbled in interconnects. They worked for another friend's medical electronics business, so we had some nice exotic materials to play with. We hand-built interconnects with Litz wire, teflon tubing, configured as balanced with an independent shield, then worked out how to have them built by a factory. Sent 'em off to Harry Pearson, J. Peter Moncrieff, and John Curl. Pearson & Cooledge loved 'em, Moncrieff basically swiped a set, Curl was very positive. Then the business broke down as the partners disagreed on going into production v. more testing. I ended up with the rights, but was more interested in practicing law than making cables. Now, when I see what folks charge for relatively simple stuff, I think I may have taken the wrong path.

So nowadays I play my own music (blues, bluegrass, and old-time), caved in and bought CDs (most recorded blues nowadays is on CD), sail other people's boats on the Big Water, and dither about whether to replace gear that I've had for decades.

Mosin

[Industry Expert]
Mar 11, 2012
Welcome aboard!

You're a lawyer, so think of something to argue about. :D

amirm

Banned
Apr 2, 2010
Seattle, WA
Welcome indeed. I don't think you took the wrong path. Making it in audio hardware business is tough, tough, tough.

Look forward to your posts in the future.

F.Cook

Feb 14, 2015
Ontario, Canada
Welcome aboard!

Boarding is FREE... Looking forward to learning more about those cables.