NEW Luxman C10X Preamplifier First Impressions / Opinion

Polyrhythm9

Nov 25, 2023
New York
I thought I would give people a quick review/opinion of the new Luxman C10X Preamplifier- Not much has been posted so far on this preamp.

Associated Equipment:

Luxman M10X Amplifier
Chord Dave DAC
Aurender N200 Streamer
Magico S3 Mk II Speakers
(average speaker cables/interconnects/powercords)

I've had the C10X for one day as new, so it's not really broken in yet - fyi. The M10X is 2 weeks old with limited use as well.

I did use the M10X with the Chord Dave as a Preamp/DAC just so I could use the M10X temporarily.

As soon as I connected the C10X to the system, WOW!!! No joking, this Preamp was an ENORMOUS improvement to the sound compared to the Chord Dave as Preamp/DAC.
I heard a level of CLARITY that I've never heard before.

The top end is crystal clear-I've never heard cymbals sound so real/metallic with realistic decay (I'm a drummer and cymbal accuracy/realism has always been something I've listed for). There is what I would consider to be an excellent airiness to the overall sound.

The mid range sounds very open with singers voices sounding very convincing and live. Drums, guitars, instruments have a realness that you immediately hear.

Low end sound is tight, accurate and not boomy. I'll still use a subwoofer but for folks that don't want a lot of bass it's probably good enough.

Two other things stand out as well:

1. Musicality----This C10X Preamp adds a musicality to ALL music that I've also never heard before. When I'm listening to music with the C10X I get drawn into the music, the song...it seems to portray music in a very cohesive way. You can turn off the analytical side of music listening if you wish. At the same time, the details are all there. I would say the level of detail is close to Soulution Audio gear (300 series) that I've heard in the past. (my ears my system)