Hello from the UK

Xav

Apr 3, 2015
Just stumbled across WBF today for the first time and I don't know how I hadn't heard about it before (spending a lot of time on other AV fora!).

My background is in Broadcast engineering - I'm a solution architect who helps design and build TV stations or sub-systems. Up till recently, the personal audio (and video) side had always been a hobby, but I've decided to launch a small audio power amplifier business and have spent the last few hours reading up on here, really appreciating the technicalities some of you get into and also the fact some here have very exotic gear so it's good to get a feel on what they think of the various techs out there.

Anyway, I'll carry on reading and will probably post whenever I have a question, although I don't want to step on anyone's toes :)

The last few hours have been so informative, long may it continue :D

Xav

Apr 3, 2015
I've always been a big fan of Class D - I had (still have) a Sony STR-DA5300ES receiver which I love for its musicality and transparence whilst still providing the emotion and soul of music. Over the last maybe 5 years, I've been following Bruno and the Hypex gang and have seen their range develop from the early UcD ST series through to the HG and now the Ncores.

The first step I'm making is providing a bespoke multi-channel power amp based on UcD HG modules. I'm not doing anything to the electronics, but have spent quite some time experimenting with different balanced audio cables, speaker cables, power supplies, etc, and have decided on a formula I really like the sound of.