God I love tubes....

Phelonious Ponk

Jun 30, 2010
I've been rehearsing a band for a couple of months now, mostly over at my buddy Joe's house, and using one of the small amps he has around, because it is substantially more trouble to load up an amp than it is to just grab an electric guitar and go. The amp I've been using over there is a small tube Peavey, roughly based on early Fender practice amps. It's a great little amp, but it's not right for me.

Yesterday I put a new speaker (Weber) in my own amp, a Fender Deluxe Reverb (vintage, black face for those who understand such things), and hauled it to practice. This is what's right for me -- the smaller examples of what they call Blackface or Silverface Fender amps, from the 1960s/70s. These amps sound completely different from the tweed cloth-covered Fender amps from the 50s, and it's mostly in their "clean" tones. I'm not technical enough to tell you what the differences are in the circuits, all I know is if you plug a good electric guitar into a Black or Silver-faced Princeton, Deluxe, Vibrolux, Tremolux...you get rewarded with this big, warm, fat, articulate, lush, enveloping sound - HUGE, sweet, beautiful - there have to be more adjectives out there for me somewhere... that can absolutely overwhelm a large domestic living room dialed up to 2 out of 10, and more than hold it's own in a noisy club with a drum kit rumbling right next to it at 5 or 6.

Sadly , my Deluxe, unlike Nigel Tuffnel's Marshall, only goes to 10, not 11.

So I took my Deluxe over to Joe's last night with my new, OCD re-creation of a 50-year-old 12" speaker design - plugged in, and it was good. Very, very good.

So you analog/tube guys? While I may not agree with the way you characterize your passion, I really do understand it. That's all. Have a great Sunday. Listen to great music.

Tim

DaveyF

Jul 31, 2010
La Jolla, Calif USA
Tim, I envy you with that amp..:)