CJ ART Monos & Zanden 9600 Monos

Micro-what is more *advanced* about recent design tube amps? Are you referring to bigger power supplies and the latest generation of CJ output transformers or something else?

Although the best known upgrade were the proprietary Teflon capacitors, most of the improvements in CJ designs have been in power supply design. They improved the quality of the passive components used in the power supply, and changed some of the discrete regulator topologies. I have owned the ACT2 and ACT2 series 2 and the improvement in sound that a few changes operated has very large - and mainly in the sense Lloyd is looking for - purity of sound. As I am very curious and access to CJ boards is very good I studied very well both circuits. :)

Probably the output transformers of recent amplifier have also been upgraded - but I never learned about it.

The MV60 is an outdated amplifier - although you can improve it a lot upgrading the capacitors, it should not be compared with more advanced or recent designs. IMHO the bass of the MV60 can not do justice to your speakers, and will affect your perception of the middle frequencies.

Completely agree...was simply making a comment with respect to your observation about great SS and your sense of the best tubes and their purity of tonality/delicacy. Even an MV60 was a match for the mighty Antileon.

Hi

While we audiophiles marvel at smallish differences brought in by different amplifiers of the same level of quality., I believe that speakers make the most difference in a system. I have come to see that differences between superlative gears is that of flavors. Not of truly intrinsic qualities. lateral moves abound in Audio, just a different sound and often a drop but since we are now paying attention we call it improvement , until the next ...lateral move.