Can I use this Custom 16amp outlet for my Gryphon??

LL21

Dec 26, 2010
Hi All,

I have emailed Gryphon and am hoping for some positive answers, but meanwhile, attached below is a 16amp outlet for use for on a dedicated line for a power amp.

Is this something i can use with my Gryphon Amp? I am told this picture is of a CEE17 inlet, and i would need to reterminate my power cable. The question is...if i did reterminate my Gryphon power cable, would it be ok if plugged my Gryphon amp into this dedicated 16 amp outlet (UK is normally 13amp)?

Thanks for any advice!! IMG_20160106_133048.jpg

Billy Shears

Jul 27, 2015
First off i am not a electrician and no one on this forum will guarantee for the safety of your electrical system.
So here are my thoughts:

To go from a 13amp to 16 amp max current delivery specification is a good thing for any Amp as Headroom is what you are after when it comes to soundquality. This does not mean your amp will be pulling 16 amps from the wall!

As long as the voltage is of the right spec there should not be a problem with going on the dedicated line.

The only thing i can think of is that some people have reportd ground humm issues when the system is connected to two different lines because of difference in Potential.

Hope this helps you..

LL21

Dec 26, 2010
Thank you! I have also now heard from Gryphon Audio directly, and they are fine with this outlet as well. The key is trying to reterminate my existing Gryphon VIP Ref cable and seeing if it will work...its a fairly fat cable though not nearly as fat as my PAD Dominus and Anniversary Contegos. Will see if one of the bigger distributors/dealers has an audiotech who can help us out. Thanks again!

Billy Shears

Jul 27, 2015