Analogue Production / Tape Project tape playback

preilauskas

Oct 7, 2021
Hi,
I am new and proud owner of a refurbished Revox B77 (15ips / 2 track).
Right now I have a few test tapes, which were recorded by the seller, so I just have to listen to something, but I feel the need and want to check The real Deal - 15ips master tapes.
My Revox is calibrated to RTM SM911 tape. Since I'm new, I really don't understand if calibration to specific tape matters only for recording or also for playback. That means, if, let'say, I buy 15ips tape from Tape Project or Analogue Productions - will it play correctly, or I need to know the specific tape model in which you recorded and I need to recalibrate my machine?
Thanks in advance, and please don't judge me - I'm new to Reel to Reel:)

astrotoy

VIP/Donor
May 24, 2010
SF Bay Area
Tape calibration is for recording, not playback. You do need to have the proper equalization for playback. In the case of Tape Project and Analogue Productions (and just about all of the newer 15ips 2 track commercial tapes) the EQ is IEC (also known as CCIR). If you are playing older 7.5ips commercial tapes, those are almost always NAB EQ. I don't own any Revox or Studer machines, so I don't know whether the various versions have switchable EQ.

Larry

Reactions: Amir

Foxbat

Jun 11, 2020
The EQ type of the particular machine is printed on the white label next to the power connector. As Larry said, most present day vendors use the IEC, but some still will do NAB, and some - specifically, UltraAnalogue - actually prefer it.

So first find out what your deck is, and then order accordingly, as there is no switch on B77.

Pacha

VIP/Donor
Apr 23, 2014
There are some after market boards for the B77/PR99 that offer switchable EQ for record and playback.
I hope posting the web site is okay?

Reactions: Steve Williams

Bruce B

WBF Founding Member, Pro Audio Production Member
Apr 25, 2010
Snohomish, WA
www.pugetsoundstudios.com