A question of DAC's, misunderstanding, and deciding on whether I need one - comments please!

Corinthian

Apr 10, 2023
I mostly listen to vinyl, and to a lesser extent digital. I have a YBA Genesis 4 CD player and a Lumin X1 streamer (having previously had the D1 and been impressed enough with the X1 to upgrade). The CD player gets used the least although I do have a decent library of CDs. The amplification is Gryphon (Pandora/Legato and Mephisto). I have no experience of a standalone DAC in my system.

I'm idly wondering whether it is worth adding a DAC in some sort of configuration, so that I can get the most out of my CD player at least. With that in mind I'd be looking for a standalone DAC that's at least as good and maybe better than the onboard DAC in the Lumin. Perhaps something like the Ideon Audio Ion which seems to get very good reviews?

Developing the thought of using a CD player purely as a transport and presumably also bypassing the Lumin's onboard DAC with a digital out so that it becomes a streamer in its most simple form, does it make any sense downgrading these components (e.g. a Lumin D2 and a very simple CD transport) and spending the money on a better standalone DAC instead? I really know nothing about these so all comments are very welcome.

Gregm

Mar 14, 2019
France
I mostly listen to vinyl, and to a lesser extent digital. I have a YBA Genesis 4 CD player and a Lumin X1 streamer (having previously had the D1 and been impressed enough with the X1 to upgrade). The CD player gets used the least although I do have a decent library of CDs. (..)