SawThis On Facebook-It's Gone Viral

Andrew Stenhouse

Feb 14, 2016
Sydney, Australia
To you lawyers out there..... is it true that at a check point we surrender our constitutional rights

Well I am not a US lawyer - plenty here. But I would say:

Highly unlikely.

I doubt that the boofhead officer had any idea what "rights" he was enforcing or violating. He doesn't look the sharpest tool in the toolbox. All they know is they don't like to be challenged.

Officials of the state tend to try and get away with what they can. Our Police used to love abit of civil rights abuse. They can't get away with it now. Everything is digitally recorded. And not only does a breach make it in front a Court, but it usually makes it onto the front page of our newspapers = end of an officers career. Our Courts love handing out decent sized penalty awards against the Police for breaches of civil rights. That tends to put a damper on their fun.

The silly thing is you don't have to behave like a prehistoric neolith to be effective.

Police are much more respected the more professionally they behave.

NorthStar

Feb 8, 2011
Vancouver Island, B.C. Canada
The police can do all the things they did in that video; it's all perfectly legal (without a lawyer present).
They suspected the driver to be no good, and that's enough to warrant a search. They don't need any proof, the driver unfortunately wasn't travelling with his legal lawyer @ his side.

The young driver of the vehicle is not a police officer; he doesn't have the same rights...he actually has no rights. If you think he has, think again.

It's life, it's America, it's North America. We're lucky, in South America they'd kill you, then rob you.
In some town in Texas, everyone is so corrupted that you have no business to be be there if you are a good an honest citizen.
There was an article recently where they hired 100 FBI agents in the most corrupted town in Texas. ...Let me check that link ...