Matching Palladian to sme3012r

Adcc

Mar 30, 2021
Edinburgh
I have an Acoustical Systems Palladian cartridge with compliance of 16-18 nm/n and was wondering if it is a good fit for my system. My tonearm is an SME3012r special. The KABUSA.COM site shows this cartridge is a good fit. My preamp is a Shindo Vosne Romanee and I was also wondering if the gain is enough. Cartridge output is .33 mv. I am relatively new to cartridge tonearm compliance issues and any advice and/or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

djsina2

May 30, 2019
Should be a perfect match compliance wise. I use a cartridge with 20 and it’s great.

Reactions: Adcc

Adcc

Mar 30, 2021
Edinburgh
Thank you very much. Any ideas on the Vosne Romanee Gain? I can’t seem to find figures.

DasguteOhr

Sep 26, 2013
Germany
Your Tonearm eff mass are 14gr.
Your cartridge weight with screws arround 13gr.
Resonance frequency arround 7- 8 hz no problem from the technical side

bonzo75

Member Sponsor
Feb 26, 2014
London
I have an Acoustical Systems Palladian cartridge with compliance of 16-18 nm/n and was wondering if it is a good fit for my system. My tonearm is an SME3012r special. The KABUSA.COM site shows this cartridge is a good fit. My preamp is a Shindo Vosne Romanee and I was also wondering if the gain is enough. Cartridge output is .33 mv. I am relatively new to cartridge tonearm compliance issues and any advice and/or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

It's a very boring cartridge. When you can sell it and get depending on your budget a SPU or an airtight or zyx or MSL to go with it. Vdh Stradivarius will be ideal aha is superb on 3012r but sample quality varies so be careful if you buy.

If you need another opinion ask @Tango who owned it and the other carts with SME 3012r

Reactions: ddk

Tango

VIP/Donor
Mar 12, 2017
Bangkok