How influenced are you by others over equipment purchases

How influenced are you by others over equipment purchases

• I've only cared about what my ears tell me, for as long as I can remember

Votes: 6 18.8%
  • I have been influenced in my early stages of this hobby, not anymore

Votes: 4 12.5%
  • I am likely to be influenced by others because I am still learning

Votes: 4 12.5%
  • I have no easy way of auditioning equipment myself, so I rely on others' opinions

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Although I am a seasoned audiophile, I am occasionally still at least intrigued by others' opinions

Votes: 11 34.4%
  • Although I am a seasoned audiophile, there some others whose opinions still influence me

Votes: 7 21.9%

• Total voters

ack

VIP/Donor & WBF Founding Member
May 6, 2010
Boston, MA
Be as honest as possible

It all depends on "who" the "others" are :)

Good point Steve. If you get a recommendation to buy something from someone whom you know fairly well and their hearing and what they like tends to jive with what you hear and what you like, you will probably take that recommendation very serious. However, it all possible, you should still listen to "it" before you part with your hard-earned cash.

Very little.

Since I have to live with my purchases, I'm pretty picky about what I use.

There are no flavors of the day in my setup.

Dre

Not now .... I got burned in the past.

Never again! I trust only my own ears ;)

Audio Equipment Positive Statements are like sand grains on a beach

I do a ton of research; searching for more negative issues than positive [audio equipment positive statements are like sand grains on a beach]. Then I use my ears & brain for MY decisions - right or wrong.

Dollar wise, approximately 90% have been correct; the other a 10% learning experience. The learning experience is still a great value.

zz.

Geez you guys are too fast - I was putting the poll together, didn't realize the thread was actually active. Vote now.