Has anyone moved on from idlers, Garrards??

kozzmo

Nov 19, 2019
Hi,

I have been running idlers for almost 25 years now, back when I got my first 301 in 2001 we compared it to my Nottingham Spacedeck and the 301 was just so much more fun that I completely abandoned belt drives altogether. However back then I was a DIY, horns, vintage guy and things like delicacy, "air", soundstage, imagining..they weren't even close to being in my vocabulary. Now that I run off the shelf hi resolution gear for better or for worse those terms are now part of my listening experience and are ever in my thoughts! So its got me thinking about what am I maybe missing running my current modified 401 vs. not having a decent belt drive table. Has anyone here had a modified or at least non rumbling idler that they have decided they like belt drives better? Anyone have both side by side and care to comment on what each does better than the other, especially in terms of the audiophile terms like soundstage etc...?

My current 401 is in slate with an oversized platter and bearing made by someone over in the vinyl asylum forum a long time ago, also it has an Audio Silente Idler and funkfirm mat. IMG_6501.jpg russell_bearing.jpg

Solypsa

Jun 7, 2017
Seattle
www.solypsa.com
A well setup 401, as yours appears to be, is quite a nice thing :)

Considering direct drives?

Folsom

VIP/Donor
Oct 25, 2015
Eastern WA
I'd talk to Bonzo about amps before I'd get rid of that beauty.

Although I'd strongly suggest a move to a metal mat (I posted about custom ones awhile back). I see no good reason to put vinyl on rock.

Robert Young

VIP/Donor
Oct 22, 2020
New York CIty