Greetings from the high seas.

Robert_Anderson

Member Sponsor
Hello,

My name is Bob Anderson. I have been an avid audiophile since I was a kid. I currently work as a lead radar engineer aboard a USNS ship all over the world. I am into extreme high end headphone listening on the ship. Oklahoma is home, and when there, I I enjoy a fairly nice Magnepan system I continually build and improve upon.

This is my living room system, please have mercy on the awful stands, I have yet to be in my new home long enough to assembled properly (Solid Tech).

http://i529.photobucket.com/albums/dd339/randerson30241/IMG_1982_zps7e2eef3a.jpg

I look forward to interaction with the group.

Bob

Last edited:

amirm

Banned
Apr 2, 2010
Seattle, WA
Welcome indeed. You are the first one to call from high seas on WBF! Thank you for helping keep us safe.

And that is one nice system at home. Is that a Mark Levinson CD player that I see in the picture? And whose Ferrari is that? :)

What does a radar engineer do on a ship? Is it operating it or maintaining/repairing them? Are they CHIRP radars?

Robert_Anderson

Member Sponsor
Thanks for the welcome. That is a Levinson transport I have had for forever. I don't recall posting a picture of a Ferrari, but if you looked on Photobucket, you might have seen a picture of a red one a friend of mine has.

Thanks for the compliment, I am a contractor working for Raytheon as a lead engineer on a dual S&X Band radar designed to track ballistic missile firings of hostile countries. I really am not allowed for security reasons to say more. If you Google the USNS Invincible, you can probably read more about it than I would ever be comfortable saying on social media.

There are some wonderful systems on this site and I can't wait to become more engaged in the conversations.

amirm

Banned
Apr 2, 2010
Seattle, WA
Thanks Robert. Will do. Another question. What are you allowed to bring on the ship as far as personal audio gear? Is it size or weight restricted?