Capacitor question

DWR

Jul 26, 2010
Western burbs of Detroit
I would like to upgrade the power supply by-pass capacitors in my tube amp and have a question that maybe someone here can help me with. I am not an expert at this but I can solder and have changed out the caps on my DAC with great results so I would like to do the same with my amp. My question is this, the caps that are in the amp are 450v 470uf, I can not find capacitors from the major manufacturers at the 450v spec. I can find 400v and 600v, so would either of these work in my amp and if so what general differences can I expect going either a little higher or lower on the voltage of the cap. Thanks in advance guys.

JackD201

WBF Founding Member
Apr 20, 2010
Manila, Philippines
Farnell UK has lots of caps with your exact values DWR from the likes of ELNA, Panasonic, Cornell, etc. Have you tried looking there? Most audio centered cap makers concentrate on coupling cap or XO cap values.

DonH50

Member Sponsor & WBF Technical Expert
Jun 22, 2010
Monument, CO
Those are probably power supply storage capacitors. Never go lower; you can go higher, so use the 600 V capacitors if that is your choice.

Lower voltage rating increases the risk of the capacitors shorting (destroying themselves and potentially other parts in the compenent) and will decrease their lifetime (and lower their performance over their lifetime).

Going higher often requires more space (volume) for equivalent capacitance, and they are often a little "slower" though I seriously doubt you would notice in an audio power supply application.

HTH - Don

DWR

Jul 26, 2010
Western burbs of Detroit
Thanks guys, that is pretty much what I thought, the 400v is just going to be too low for safety sake. I really wanted to try some of Modwrights new caps but they only make 400v. I will go with some 600v Auri Caps. Yes Jack I have been looking on the Farnell UK site as well. Again thank you guys.

microstrip

VIP/Donor
May 30, 2010
Portugal