Upgrading from EMT TSD 75...Shindo VR, Kuzma Ref 313 VTA arm

fjn04

Oct 31, 2014
I have been using an EMT TSD-75 as my main cartridge for a few years. I'd like to purchase a new cartridge in the $5-$6 range. I'm considering Koetsu or EMT. The EMT is the front runner, due to the fact I know they play well w/ my tonearm, step up, and phono stage. The issue is I'm not sure which model to get.

my setup: Kuzma Ref. 2, REF 313 VTA, Shindo VR, Dyquem Parallel SET 300B, Altec Valencia's w/ updated crossovers. Music runs from classic jazz, to Nick Drake, Steely Dan, Fleetwood Mac, Joni, Eva Cassidy, Elliott Smith, CSN/Y, solo Neil, Zeppelin, Jackson Browne. Cheers -Don

Last edited:

Addicted to hifi

VIP/Donor
Sep 8, 2020
Australia
I have been using an EMT TSD-75 as my main cartridge for a few years. I'd like to purchase a new cartridge in the $5-$6 range. I'm considering Koetsu or EMT. The EMT is the front runner, due to the fact I know they play well w/ my tonearm, step up, and phono stage. The issue is I'm not sure which model to get.

my setup: Kuzma Ref. 2, REF 313 VTA, Shindo VR, Dyquem Parallel SET 300B, Altec Valencia's w/ updated crossovers. Music runs from classic jazz, to Nick Drake, Steely Dan, Fleetwood Mac, Joni, Eva Cassidy, Elliott Smith, CSN/Y, solo Neil, Zeppelin, Jackson Browne. Cheers -Don
I would go koetsu.

scot

Jan 4, 2018
Hi fjn04