Suggestions for a portable cardiod microphone for speech

misterspeakeasy

Jun 24, 2023
I am an English teacher, teaching English to adult non-native speakers.

I have a modest mini-studio type set up for online face-to-face tuition, with a Shute cardiod XLR running through AudioOne into my laptop.

However, I would like to record short audio clips, sometimes at home, sometimes possibly away from home in various indoor settings, sometimes recording other people one at a time.

I want as far as possible to emulate a studio environment. I am looking for a sound that is acoustically dead, using (I expect) close microphone technique and a quality microphone with cardiod or hyper-cardiod characteristics.

I would use either a laptop or an IOS device... an iPhone or iPad.

Budget is limited.

The objective is to create neutral, quality spoken items which would be used in micro-learning environments.

AMR / iFi audio

Industry Expert
Aug 21, 2019
UK
ifi-audio.com
I am an English teacher, teaching English to adult non-native speakers.

I have a modest mini-studio type set up for online face-to-face tuition, with a Shute cardiod XLR running through AudioOne into my laptop.

However, I would like to record short audio clips, sometimes at home, sometimes possibly away from home in various indoor settings, sometimes recording other people one at a time.

I want as far as possible to emulate a studio environment. I am looking for a sound that is acoustically dead, using (I expect) close microphone technique and a quality microphone with cardiod or hyper-cardiod characteristics.

I would use either a laptop or an IOS device... an iPhone or iPad.

Budget is limited.

The objective is to create neutral, quality spoken items which would be used in micro-learning environments.
A simple lavalier with USB output might be the perfect solution. Rode and Audio-Technica have those. Then put the signal through Adobe Podcast and you'll be golden :)

petemccollister

Apr 14, 2023