It's Turkey Day

Steve Williams

Site Founder, Site Owner, Administrator
Happy Thanksgiving to everyone

I am interested as to how everyone is doing their turkey this year.

I am a huge fan and proponent of brining the turkey for 16-24 hours (A la Alice Waters from Chez Panisse as well as the Food Network recommends) before cooking as IMO the taste is second to none. I have been brining since 1999 when the San Francisco Chronicle named this as the number one best method of doing your turkey. Also agree with the "no basting" and keep the oven door closed as well as the 500 degrees for half hour first before lowering to 350

I have never had the brass cajones to deep fry a turkey and just don't think it feels like Thanksgiving if you do

Here is probably my favorite

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/good-eats-roast-turkey-recipe/index.html

http://www.foodnetwork.com/food/holidays_and_parties/channel/0,1000341,FOOD_32087_11828,00.html

http://www.foodnetwork.com/thanksgiving-turkey-tips-and-how-tos/video/index.html?videoId=866

http://www.food.com/recipe/chez-panisse-brine-for-pork-chicken-and-turkey-131506

http://northfork.patch.com/articles/local-expert-brining-a-turkey-too-important-to-ignore

Enjoy

ack

VIP/Donor & WBF Founding Member
May 6, 2010
Boston, MA
Happy Thanksgiving... For the first time we are doing a simple turkey breast for those who care and lots of racks of lamb for the rest, despite the fact we've gotten really good at cooking turkey really well by brining and using the Alton Brown recipe. In the end, everyone likes turkey the least...

treitz3

Super Moderator
Staff member
Dec 25, 2011
The tube lair in beautiful Rock Hill, SC