Hello from the US

Bachtoven

May 10, 2015
I'm a classical music lover and audiophile. My current occupation is a high school English teacher (for the past 25 years), and before that I was an audio engineer for my local NPR station--mainly recorded live classical concerts for broadcast and did some studio production work. I don't recall exactly how I got into better audio gear, but it started in my teens. I think my first decent system was an all-Marantz (well, speakers and receiver--I think my turntable was a Dual of some sort). I started reading Stereo Review and High Fidelity and gradually started improving my system. I went through all sorts of speakers--Acoustic Research, Heil, Magnepan, ADS, Acoustat, Quad, Martin Logan, B&W, and most recently, my DALI Epicon 2s. Over the years I've owned Phase Linear, Threshold, Mark Levinson (back when HE ran the company!), Marantz, Parasound, and now Pass Labs electronics.

Johnny Vinyl

Member Sponsor & WBF Founding Member
May 16, 2010
Calgary, AB
Welcome to the WBF Bachtoven (love the moniker)!:) Your audio journey is likely reflective of many here and I'm glad to read that you stuck with it. Many of my friends from back then got out of it for one reason or another.

What is currently in your system?

amirm

Banned
Apr 2, 2010
Seattle, WA
Welcome indeed. You have a great history of gear there and you will be able to fit right in here :).

LL21

Dec 26, 2010
I believe i have read your great music recommendations elsewhere...welcome!

Bachtoven

May 10, 2015
Thanks, everyone. I've made quite a CD/SACD journey, too: Meridian (their first, basically a modified Philips), then Marantz SA11S, Sony 5400ES, and finally, my current Esoteric K-03. My full system:

DALI Epicon 2 speakers
SVS SB13 Ultra sub
Pass Labs INT-150 integrated amp
Esoteric K-03 SACD player
Oppo 105 Blu-ray player
Sennheiser HD800 headphones
Woo Audio WA6 headphone amp
Nordost, Audio Analysis interconnects; Kimber Kable speaker cables

Johnny Vinyl