DSLR for serious Photography

FrantzM

Member Sponsor & WBF Founding Member
Apr 20, 2010
Hi

I am really behind the curve when it comes to Digital Cameras. I was a professional photographer when I was in college and did professional jobs up to 1993 then I just dropped photography altogether ..coming back slowly .. Back in the days difference between cameras weren't that great .. The film was what made the difference. That you used a Canon or a Nikon or Leica wouldn't be that much different on a print .. True what you got with a larger format say a 2 1/4 x 2 1/4 (6 x6 cm) 6 would be clearly superior with the same film to what you got with 35 mm ... but ...
Now there is no more film and the sensors are for the most part parts and parcel of the compact computer the cameras have become more important .. My Question thus .. Are they that mch different for the average user? What we would call a serious photographer? I know there always be debate about the ultimate but .. really can even a seasoned amateur photographer see much difference between t a 16 megapixel and a 21 MP on even a 8 x 10 print ...
I am about to commit to serious Digital SLR in a few months .. I need it to be full frame sensor, rugged body with good reliability track record,low noise, great batteries life.....and also what printer would you recommend?