Beethoven's Symphonies - Otmar Suitner (Denon Remaster)

LL21

Dec 26, 2010
I bought the Karajan 1963 set when it first came out, when I was a freshman in college....

...I checked and I have 3 different Furtwangler 9ths - from 1954 and 1951, both with Schwarzkopf singing the soprano role (I am guessing her husband or husband to be Walter Legge may have had something to do with the recording) and a war time recording from Berlin - in front of Hitler as I remember...

PS. As a junior, we had a sophomore, Bob Levin, living across the hall. He had a piano in his room and would play the 32 Beethoven Piano Sonatas straight through. He later went on to become an accomplished fortepiano player, with quite a few recordings, as well as a professor at the college.

Great stories...which of the Furtwangler's 9s do you like best?

astrotoy

VIP/Donor
May 24, 2010
SF Bay Area
Great stories...which of the Furtwangler's 9s do you like best?

I pulled out my 3 Furtwangler Beethoven 9ths (all on vinyl). Turns out I have the 1942 Berlin and 1951 Bayreuth, but I don't have the 1954. Instead I have another 1951, done a little over a month earlier, on July 1, 1951 in Vienna, with the VPO and a different set of singers - Seefried, Anday, Patzak and Edelmann, recorded in the Musikverein. I'm currently in the middle of a bunch of stereo rips. Next time I switch over to my mono cartridge, I'll give these a spin and let you know.

Larry

PS. In Walter Legge's bio done by his wife Schwarzkopf, but mostly with his writings, he tells of the massive feud between Furtwangler and Karajan. Essentially Furtwangler blocked Karajan from getting the Berlin PO directorship for many years. Not until Furtwangler's death in 1954 was Karajan able to get the position which he held for 35 years until his death in 1989.

LL21

Dec 26, 2010