Audio Mirror dac after 15 hrs of use

Rocknroll

Jun 3, 2023
After approximately 15 hrs of listening, Vlads Tubadour V dac is opening up nicely. I was impressed right out of the box and it is progressively improving with use. Hearing sounds in my cds for the first time. I am predominately a vinyl listener getting started in the early 70s with Pioneer amp and micro seiki tt. This dac with Jays Audio transport competes with my Rega and MW PH9.0X turntable rig. I am not good at describing all the details of the sonics so I won't, but the Tubadour is worth a listen to anyone interested. Enjoy the music!

Reactions: Republicoftexas69

mg248

Mar 24, 2021
Are you using I2S or how do you connect them?

What are your impressions 2 months later?

Rocknroll

Jun 3, 2023
After a couple months with Tubadour it is sounding a better yet. I would say in the bass area. Not good with descriptions but I would say very realistic. Rivals my turntable and maybe even surpasses it in some areas. Enjoyable. I do use I2s.

jtcfdog

Apr 22, 2023
I've owned a Tubadour Dac for going on three years now with a Cambridge CXC.I'm not unhappy with the CXC but the drawer is beginning to malfunction,so I've got a Jays transport on the way to replace it.I'm hoping it will be a huge upgrade in all aspects, not one of those times four things improve and one thing sounds significantly worse. Sometimes I just want to plug and play without a lot of tweaking. Your post @Rocknroll gives me comfort as I wait

Rocknroll

Jun 3, 2023
I hope you enjoy the Jays. Well built. I have owned mine roughly 3 years and have been happy with it. It does take some time to warm up. I figure 1/2 hour or so. Keep us posted after you get a chance to listen. Yours will probably be a newer model and I am not familiar with the changes. Hopefully a step up for you.

jtcfdog

Apr 22, 2023