Tube gear liquidity - what determines it?

caesar

May 30, 2010
Does anyone know what determines tube gear liquidity? Why does some tube gear sound more liquid than other tube gear?

spiritofmusic

Jun 13, 2013
E. England
I have limited experience of tube amps, going from 25W/ch Audion Black Shadow 845s SETs, to current 75W/ch Nat Audio SE2SE 211s, pwring 101dB/1m eff Zu Audio Definitions 4s.
I would say the Nats are more liquid, and a lot of this is down to them having sufficient headroom to suit my spkrs played pretty loudly in a 6000 cu ft room.
If you get the amp-speakers choice wrong, a lot of that indefinable tube joy incl liquidity may disappear.
A robust pwr supply/transformer must help, the Nats being truly bulletproof wrt the Audions.

Audiophile Bill

Mar 23, 2015
What does 'liquid' mean?
Valves can produce far more distortion especially at the frequency extremes than solid state, when they clip they can produce more second level harmonics, which sound pleasant, depending upon the design they may roll off both bass and treble, presenting a more 'coherent' midrange.
Keith.

I understand liquidity to mean the experience that occurs in great systems where the soundstage feels totally detached from the drivers - ie. no sound appears to come from the drivers and the music flows with great ease and no mechanical edge.

amirm

Banned
Apr 2, 2010
Seattle, WA
I understand liquidity to mean the experience that occurs in great systems where the soundstage feels totally detached from the drivers - ie. no sound appears to come from the drivers and the music flows with great ease and no mechanical edge.
I always took it as smoothness especially in the mid-range but no other association with drivers and such.

Audiophile Bill

Mar 23, 2015
I always took it as smoothness especially in the mid-range but no other association with drivers and such.

Ha. Just shows that we use terms and mean different things without even knowing!

microstrip

VIP/Donor
May 30, 2010
Portugal