Please Help - Technics 1210 Stroble Flicker and Low torque

Robmorris

Jan 7, 2013
I just replaced Q1, Q2 and D3 to solve my previous problem (after shorting out the target lamp). I now however have the problem of low torque. The platter spins up slower than my other deck (about 1/4 of a rotation slower) and then takes less pressure on the platter to stop. When the platter is stopped (under pressure ) the red strobe light seems to flicker? any suggestions what this may be - could it be one of the IC's or just a brake adjustment needed? thanks

JackD201

WBF Founding Member
Apr 20, 2010
Manila, Philippines
I've been using SLs for almost 30 years and haven't seen a strobe flicker. As for the Start/Stop, I'd check the lubrication in the bearing well and the breaking.

DonH50

Member Sponsor & WBF Technical Expert
Jun 22, 2010
Monument, CO
The transistors you replaced are in the supply. It looks like IC101 drives the motor. Have you performed the measurements listed in the service manual, including the main voltages and speed control feedback and brake circuits?

Before doing all that I would follow Jack's advice to check the motor's lubrication and make sure it just isn't old/dried/missing grease... May have been marginal before and the down time allowed it to dry out.

KBK

Jan 3, 2013
Pardon the intrusion. IIRC, the Panasonic/technics series of DD/TT drive systems are capacitively coupled to the coils? Thus on older tables (which they all are now), a thorough changing out of coupling and feedback electrolytic capacitors is generally required. Besides basic issue of the oil potentially being a fault point.