Scott6840

Jan 30, 2019
I am using a Polk Audio CS10 center channel speaker in my home theater setup and, while it is rated as one of the top 10 center speakers on the market, my system sounds better without it than with it, which is not how it is supposed to work. All of the other speaker are matching Polk Audio speakers powered by a Denon AVR-S740H amp.

In order to check the speaker, I took it apart (With the blessings of Polk Audio) and hooked it up to a 20MHz dual trace oscilloscope and a frequency generator. A photo of the resulting sine wave trace (at about 8K hertz) is below. The traces were made by connecting the oscilloscope to the speaker terminals, after the crossover network. The smaller trace was taken at the 1" silk dome tweeter terminals; the larger at the 5" woofer terminals.

Trace.jpg

I am not an expert in either electronics or audio, but judging from the traces shown, it appears that the signal going to the tweeter is nearly 180° out of phase with the one feeding the woofer.

Is this the way it is supposed to be? Would this account for the poor sound from the speaker? How would I get the speakers in phase with one another?

I appreciate any help anyone is willing to provide. Thanks.

Kal Rubinson

May 4, 2010
NYC
www.stereophile.com
I am using a Polk Audio CS10 center channel speaker in my home theater setup and, while it is rated as one of the top 10 center speakers on the market, .....
I cannot accept that statement. Perhaps it is one of the top 10 low priced centers. It is a horizontal 2-way with a 2500Hz crossover which is more than likely going to have irregular (venetian-blind) horizontal dispersion due to driver spacing. That said............................
Is this the way it is supposed to be?
Possibly. Depending on the driver spacing and the crossover slope, Polk may have decided that the phase inversion might be more successful in blending the drivers. This is not uncommon.

Would this account for the poor sound from the speaker?