Contenders for Most Musical and Best Two-Way Mini-Monitors of All Time?

caesar

May 30, 2010
It's amazing how great minis can make such beautiful music.

By musical I mean sound more like Magico Mini rather than Magico Q1. Along the same line of thought, looking for a list of greatest of all time - Hall of Fame stuff, as some of the older stuff frequently sounds so much better than the new stuff championed by the media elites (who are really marketing reps for manufacturers, helping them sell the new model).

What makes these greats sound so good and real on certain recordings?

DaveyF

Jul 31, 2010
La Jolla, Calif USA
I nominate the speakers that I have been enjoying for several years and that I think were designed by a genius as his crowning work....the Sonus Faber Guarneri Homage. I have never heard a two way that is superior and I have heard all of the current contenders, including the Q1's, and the Raidho D1's...even the excellent TAD's!

Reactions: paolo

Al M.

VIP/Donor
Sep 10, 2013
Greater Boston

By musical I mean sound more like Magico Mini rather than Magico Q1.

I love the former but have heard the latter sound equally musical and great.

MadFloyd

Member Sponsor
May 30, 2010
Mass
I would assume the Q1s are superior to the Minis but while I've heard the Minis many times I haven't heard the Q1s. I take it you have, caesar and found them non-musical? May I ask in what way?

caesar

May 30, 2010
I would assume the Q1s are superior to the Minis but while I've heard the Minis many times I haven't heard the Q1s. I take it you have, caesar and found them non-musical? May I ask in what way?