Celestion Axi2050 Horn Driver - Holy Cow!

Tinear1

Aug 24, 2019
All... I have been using horn speakers for the last 10 years after making the SET-Horn to High Power-Dynamic speakers trip a couple times over the decades. I recently changed the drivers on my BD-Design ORIS horns to the need Celestion AXI2050 and holy crap these things are outstanding! So here is the story... A few months ago I heard the new Klipsch Jubilee and frankly was blown away. I immediately started devising plans on how to cram those new Jubilee monsters into my room including possible ways to make the room larger, and yes they were just that good. Then I bumped into a guy that had the old style commercial market Jubilees. They were good, about equivalent to my BD-Design system and while smaller than the new Audiophile Jubilees still very large as both use base horn sections. The interesting thing was this fellow told me about the Celestion Axi2050 drivers he had just ordered to replace his mid/high concentric horn drivers informing me that this is THE driver used in the new Audiophile Jubilee version. The Celestion has one distinct advantage in that it is a single driver 300Hz to 20kHz so zero crossover! When he received the drivers he rang me up and I went for a listen. Only took me about 20 minutes of audition to place my order.