Any experience with Shunyata ?tron

ack

VIP/Donor & WBF Founding Member
May 6, 2010
Boston, MA
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CXwRTzJZ7Y0

I had the Viper ?tron power cord in for evaluation and it didn't last more than 2 minutes, given its substandard construction (Marinco plugs, ability to see into each plug's bare wires from the input hole, i.e. lack of basic protection).

Steve Williams

Site Founder, Site Owner, Administrator
I was at CES last year when Caleb showed us the same test which sure looked impressive. He also had a live guitar player in the room playing through a guitar amp using a regular cable and then one of their Etron cables and the sound was clearly different

We didn't get to see the build quality however

ack

May 6, 2010
Boston, MA
Have a Viper coming soon, did you listen to it? What component if so?

I didn't, couldn't stand looking at it, cheaply made.

microstrip

VIP/Donor
May 30, 2010
Portugal
I have no experience with the new cables, but if your cable was representative, it seems to be a back step. Their old cables had high standard quality - even the cheaper Diamond had great assembly quality. As far as I remember the cheaper lines had molded connectors and were very safe. According to your description it seems some sealing accessories were missing in your plug - Marinco power plugs are manufactured to be used in harsh environments and most are even water proof. They are considered a standard worldwide.

I find it even more strange because the new lines are sold in Europe and a cable having the problems you refer could never get a EC certification. Let us hope Shunyata solves the problem fast - IMHO they represent excellent value for money, and I appreciate a lot their performance with Audio Research electronics. Perhaps some lucky WBF member who is now traveling to the CES 2013 can ask them directly about this issue. :)

ack

May 6, 2010
Boston, MA