Equi~Tech vs Torus

iostinato

Mar 7, 2013
Austin
Hi All,

I'm building a kind of hybrid room as an addition to my house for use as a band rehearsal room (I'm a hobbyist drummer), and for home theater use. The framing and treatments have been designed by Rod Gervais, who primarily has experience in studio design. We're in the framing stage now and I'm trying to learn more about optimizing the electrical supply. I'm planning a dedicated panel for the audio and video equipment and recognize the value of an isolated power supply. The electrician can provide a 50A 240V supply from the street. The system will exclusively power a Seaton Sound surround 7.4 setup (active monitors), projector, and associated switching/source equipment. I'll use a separate conventional supply for lighting, HVAC, wall outlets, etc. Mark Seaton and I figured peaks for movies might draw around 57A, so I'm specifically looking at the 10WQ or a similar capacity all in one (AIO) unit from Torus.

It's very possible I'm oversimplifying, but what I'm debating is the merits of a balanced power system (Equi~Tech) for improved line noise rejection, versus the Torus approach which uses standard voltage arrangement but has possibly superior surge (series mode protection) and filter protection. Austin is not known for frequent thunderstorms, but it only takes one and there's gonna be a lot of $ literally on the line. I've read the threads here with Mike L. and Bruce B.'s experiences with the Equi~Tech WQ wall cabinets, and I'd love to hear opinions on why a particular unit was chosen, recommended grounding methods with these units, any other guidance I should give the electrician. thanks!!

amirm

Banned
Apr 2, 2010
Seattle, WA