My basement studio.

therealfactor

Feb 17, 2011
Dear Ethen-

I wanted to drop by and offer you my appreciation for all your wonderful, informative videos. Not may people, at least that I can find, are willing to go the distance you do for education and preserving knowledge without trying to sell something. Most informative videos anymore are trying to get me to buy bass traps to put all throughout my room --as if that's necessary. Ha ha. Your videos and discussions are well rounded, to the point and informative.

I'm a 21 year old guitarist/pianist/vocalist. I bought my house 4 years ago, and since the birth of my beautiful daughter, I didn't think my dream of recording (and hopefully distributing) my own music would ever be a reality, a reality that has begun production in my basement. Your videos have helped me a lot in understanding concepts that keep me from buying unnecessary materials, and spending my money wisely --on necessary things.

Because I do favor your videos, and your grasp of Audio Engineering is evident, I would like to ask you a question. I appreciate that you are far too qualified to spend time answering questions for strangers on a blog, but if you could it would really help me.

I've recently finished water proofing and "sound proofing" my basement. I was thorough on the water proofing, but not as particular about the sound proofing of the basement (because I am making individual, insulated rooms that will serve that function). Because there did used to exist a water issue (a minor one, but none the less a water issue), I have raised the floor structure of my studio 5 inches. So on one side of my basement I have an 8 x 10 ft room studded that is 5 inches off the ground that will be my acoustic/vocal recording room, and on the other side of the basement, though I haven't begun the listening room yet, will be similar. Neither of their walls will be touching each other. Think of a hall way.