Realignment of STUDER A810 after battery replacement

eugen_syd

Jun 20, 2010
Hi everyone

Hi people,

After reading a series of postings on STUDER yahoo group I checked the battery on my MP board. Battery was down to 0.6V and ready to "pop" (very green around). Also I was getting EEE01 error message. I replaced it with one from e-bay.
Does anyone have a clear procedure for realignment of the machine after replacement of the battery? Where can I find decent calibration tapes for STUDER A810? Can settings be taken from another machine via tape and read in?
I am pretty new to STUDER A810, I have a service manual in original but when I read the alignment procedure sounded pretty complicated. I don't think you have to realign the heads just because you replaced the battery!
Your help is much appreciated.

Best regards from down under,

EUGEN

Bruce B

WBF Founding Member, Pro Audio Production Member
Apr 25, 2010
Snohomish, WA
www.pugetsoundstudios.com
If you have not removed the heads or anything, physical alignment isn't necessary. if you are only going to use this for playback, calibration is easy. When you first boot up, does the screen flash a date with no errors? If it does, all you need is an MRL tape for calibration.
You will need to go to MRL Tapes and buy a tape that will suit your needs. What speed will you be playing back tapes at? 3 3/4ips or 7.5ips or 15ips or whatever. Next you will need to determine if you'll be playing IEC/CCIR or NAB tapes and lastly, if you will be recording, what bias or reference fluxivity of the tape you will be using (ie: 250 n/Wb/m, 330 or ??) to record?
Place the tape on the machine, change the dip switches acording to the manual (I'm not at the studio so I don't remember which way it goes). and then when the test tones are played, press the buttons to raise/lower the gain so that the vu meters read 0dBvu.

tony ky ma

Industry Expert
Aug 21, 2010
Whitby Ontario Canada
Hi Eugen