Effects of improved power cords on turntables

spiritofmusic

Jun 13, 2013
E. England
I’ve been running an exemplary set of Sablon cables since 2013-14, first Panatella interconnects & spkr cables, plus Quantum Gran Corona QGC pwr cords, and since 2015, Reservas loom, w upgrade to Elites pwr cords over the last 12 months. I’ve always had readily identifiable impvts in SQ every time I’ve added a cable, or moved on up.
However, the only area I haven’t Sablon’d has been the tt motor psu. Basically because this has been a stock off the shelf Maxxon unit w captive cheapo pwr cord/fused UK plug.
However on my recent take no prisoners analog reinstall I commissioned a bespoke overspecced tt motor psu from Peter Downs of Alternative Audio. I had already got his bespoke psu for Straingauge energiser, and it was logical to get him to do this second psu since they shared a lot in common.
So now I have this psu, installed a SR Black fuse in it, and decided to utilise a spare Sablon QGC UK plug pwr cord for it. I figured the QGC had served me well in the past, and indeed I wouldn’t need to trade up to the Elite. I mean a motor is a motor, it’s not a sensitive source component, phono, dac or even preamp. Just even power to the tt speed controller, this should do it. QGC should be all I need.
And so, after my analog burn in from Hell, the QGC is contributing nicely.
However it was suggested I try the Elite on the motor psu, maybe I’ll be surprised.
Well, surprised isn’t quite the word, shocked and delighted are more like it. The Elite instantaneously has opened up the sound, reticent percussion and bass lines are up front and pertinent, air and soundstaging opened up in all directions, resolution and warmth have expanded.
Initially this made no sense to me (then again, Entreq on Stillpoints being an impvt doesn’t either, but it is), but I’ve given up trying to second guess in this hobby.
I’ll put it out there for opinions.